top of page

SRS-Safety Requirement Specification

Updated: Sep 6, 2022

The IEC 61511 Standard requires the user to create a Safety Requirements Specification (SRS) for a Safety Instrumented System (SIS) that incorporates all the analysis done during the Risk Assessment, HAZOP/PHA and LOPA reviews. The SRS falls into two types: an initial conceptual SRS, often referred to as the Process Safety SRS; a detailed Design SRS which contains all the detailed design information. SRS Contains following Information as a minimum: 1. Functional Description of the Safety Function 2. Safety Integrity Level 3. Required Risk Reduction Factor 4. Energize to Trip or De-energize to Trip 5. Low Demand, High Demand, Continuous Demand 6. Safe State for each safety function 7. Start up, Restart and Reset Functionality 8. Maximum allowable Spurious Trip Level 9. Bypass Philosophy 10. Environmental condition SRS is first prepared by the End User. System Integrators uses this information to prepare their own version of SRS containing Hardware and Software Requirements. This version of SRS have to approved by End users. After Final SRS, design and engineering can be started.

🎥 𝐒𝐮𝐛𝐬𝐜𝐫𝐢𝐛𝐞 𝐦𝐲 𝐘𝐨𝐮𝐓𝐮𝐛𝐞 𝐂𝐡𝐚𝐧𝐧𝐞𝐥 : 📢📢 📢📢 𝐅𝐨𝐥𝐥𝐨𝐰𝐬 𝐮𝐬 𝐨𝐧 𝑺𝒐𝒄𝒊𝒂𝒍 𝑴𝒆𝒅𝒊𝒂 ------------------------------------------------------------------------ 🙋🏻‍♂️ 𝐋𝐢𝐧𝐤𝐞𝐝𝐈𝐧 𝐏𝐚𝐠𝐞: 🙋🏻‍♂️ 𝐅𝐚𝐜𝐞𝐛𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐏𝐚𝐠𝐞 : 💌 𝑪𝒐𝒏𝒕𝒂𝒄𝒕 𝒖𝒔 : for any business/ promotion queries. Website: classification #Risk Reduction #Functional Safety #safety#SIL Verification # SIL Calculation LOPA Layer of Protection Analysis LOPA Layer of Protection SRS Safety Requirement Specification What is SRS used for? What is a LOPA diagram? How do you do a SRS? What is the difference between LOPA and HAZOP? SRS examples and solutions SRS example case study

SRS Format
Download XLSX • 10KB

172 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page